Sunday, February 28, 2010

Cincinnati Auto Expo '10

As I said a couple entries ago, the Cincinnati Auto Expo was this weekend, and it brought some unexpected surprises.

I always enter the Expo not knowing what to expect. Sure, there will be all the new cars for the 2010 model year, but sometimes some newcomers sneak in early to make an appearance.

For example, the first car I saw wasn't a surprise, I had just forgotten about it for a minute. That is a little sad, considering that I am genuinely excited about the new Ford Fiesta that is coming to showrooms this summer. The excitement came right back as I got to walk around a white one on display. Sadly, as I feared Ford did have to change things from the fantastic looking European version to bring it to the states, and made it look not quite as nice. Still, it is a Ford that makes perfect sense, and from what I could see the interior is still stunning. However, I'd have a Fiesta over a Fit just based on the looks, and that is saying something.

From then on, things were just a bit... boring.

I had someone ask me after the show what looked good and would be worth looking at to buy in a year or so, and I couldn't really think of anything.

Anything, except the new Jaguar.

How can I put its beauty into words?

Obviously, its a four door limo, so it isn't as beautiful as the XKE in its blood, but if the XKE was a four door it would probably look something like the new XJ.

It beats the Quattroporte, hands down.

In fact, no new four-door in its class looks as stunning. End of story.

Also, to all the naysayers on the Porsche Panamera, reserve your commenting and judgement for when you see the car in person. All the pictures I've ever seen of it make it look like a slightly stretched 911, and that thought makes it drastically ugly. However, when you see it, the car is much bigger than the pictures make it look. Somehow, that makes it look better than the pictures make it look. The problem is, it still doesnt look good enough. I think the back end and the shape overall is brilliant, but the front kills it. The headlights are hopeless, and the front bumper makes the car look like it has a fat lip.

They're looks that can be saved by a car that is wonderful to drive, that's all.

What about the bad? Well, the BMW X6 is still hideous. Nothing new there. The new Hyundai Sonata is a step in the right direction, although it still feels like you're buying an imitation, not an original thought.

I can put it this way. Old Hyundais were imitation crab on a saltine cracker. The newer ones are imitation crab on sushi.

I'll leave you with another I REALLY WANT IT:

LANCIA BABY!

2 comments:

  1. Hey Sam.

    Good to see you starting a serious blog!!! A couple of notes (if you are willing to accept some constructive design criticism....)

    I think the type is a little hard to read...I think the white on black with the semibold text is making my eyes go a little crazy. Also, instead of putting links to images and youtube vids, you can embed them into your post. It makes it a lot more visually interesting. Let me know if you can't figure out how to do this.

    ttyl little bro!

    -Syl

    ReplyDelete
  2. I figured out the images, but not the videos, but I think I can figure that out as well, I just forgot it was possible.

    I haven't really played with the layout, but I'll get on that.

    ReplyDelete